Wed. Jul 17th, 2024

National, July 10, 2024: WhatsApp is rolling out a new feature that will help users stay safe in group messaging.

If you’re added to a group by someone you don’t know, you’ll now see a context card giving you more information about the group. This includes who added you, how recent the group was created, and who created it. From there, you can decide whether to stay or leave the group, and review some of the safety tools available to stay safe and secure on WhatsApp.

English_WhatsApp_Group FMX

This is particularly helpful if you just met someone or a group of people, and haven’t yet saved them in your contacts – or it can help confirm whether or not it’s a group you know or want to be in.

This update provides WhatsApp users with another layer of safety and security, building on existing features like silencing unknown callers, chat lock, in-app privacy check-up, and controlling who can add you to groups. It’s also similar to the current experience in 1:1 messaging, where you’re given more context if you’re messaged by someone you don’t know.

This has already begun rolling out to users, and will be available to all users in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *