Fri. Jun 21st, 2024

New Delhi, Feb 28: “The students of IIMC are today playing a leadership role in the field of media and mass communication. With their talent, the students of the Indian Institute of Mass Communication have brought laurels to the institute from all over the world”, said DG IIMC, Prof. (Dr.) Sanjay Dwivedi while addressing the alumni during IIMC Alumni Meet 2023.

Prof. Dwivedi, while lauding the IIMC alumni association ‘IIMCAA’, stated that running an association continuously is a challenging task. The dedication and hard work put in by the members of the IIMCAA is noteworthy. He stated that this alumni association has worked tirelessly for the benefit and respect of its fellow students, with no selfish motives. According to the Director General of IIMC, the way in which ‘IIMCAA’ has maintained the continuity of its activities and continues to upgrade itself is commendable.

Alumni of the institute and veterans of mass communication working in various institutes across the country took part in the annual program ‘Connections 2023’ of the IIMCAA. During the program, 23 alumni were recognized for their outstanding work in the media with the IFFCO IIMCAA Awards 2023. On this occasion, Senior Educationist Prof. Gita Bamezai, Media Entrepreneur Anita Kaul Basu, Senior journalist Prakash Patra, Assam State Information Commissioner Samudra Gupta Kashyap, and Senior Indian Information Service officer Anurag Vajpeyi were honored with the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’.

Renowned Odia writer Dr. Gayatribala Panda was given the ‘Alumni of the Year award, while Sushil Singh, Amit Katoch, Pankaj Chandra Goswami, and Pee Lee Ete were given the Public Service Award. Utkarsh Singh, the journalist of The Quint, was given the ‘Journalist of the Year’ award. Apart from this, Rohit Vishwakarma of NDTV has been awarded ‘Agriculture Reporter of the year’, Andrew Amsan of Indian Express for Print Media, Nibir Deka for Times Now (TV Journalism), Bijin Samuel of Malayalam Manorama for Indian Language Journalism (Print Media), Sandhya Manikandan for Indian Language Journalism (Print Media) (Television), Jyoti Jangra for Producer of the Year, Mohit Pasricha for Advertising and AR Hemant for excellent work in the field of Public Relations.

The ‘Jury Special Mention’ award was also given this year by ‘IIMCAA’. Harshita Rathore and Jyoti Yadav were given the ‘Journalist of the Year’ award. Apart from this, Agriculture Journalism to Harikishan Sharma, Print Media to N. Sundaresha Subramaniam and Shambhu Nath, TV Journalism to Abhishek Yadav, Indian Language Journalism to Rajshree Sahu (Print Media), Jyotismita Nayak to Indian Language Journalism (Television) and Surabhi Singh and Shubham Tiwari was awarded the Producer of the Year award.

Odisha Chapter was awarded ‘Connecting Chapter of the Year’, ‘Connecting Group of the Year’ to the 1993-94 batch, and ‘Connecting Alumni of the Year’ to Brij Kishore. Apart from this, the students of the Golden Jubilee Alumni Batch of the year 1972-73 and the Silver Jubilee Alumni Batch of the year 1997-98 were also felicitated.

IIMCAA, President Kalyan Ranjan, General Secretary Sadhna Arya, Senior IAS Officer and Editor of ‘Connections’ magazine Rajendra Kataria, National Meet Convenor and C-Voter Foundation Founder Yashwant Deshmukh, State Meet Convenor Gayatri Srivastava, International Meet Convenor Anwar Ashraf, IIMCA Awards Convenor and India Today Managing Editor Sunil Menon, Award Coordinator Simrat Gulati, IIMCA Care Fund Chairman Nitin Pradhan, and Scholarship Committee Chairman Anshu Gupta along with other alumni from different parts of the country were present in the event. The program was moderated by Ritesh Verma, Editor (New Initiative) of ‘Live Hindustan’.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *